

ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය

ಕ್ಷಣ ಶಿಂಡಿತ The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka Extraordinary

අංක 2391/14 - 2024 ජූලි මස 02 වැනි අඟහරුවාදා - 2024.07.02 No. 2391/14 - TUESDAY, JULY 02, 2024

(Published by Authority)

PART I : SECTION (I) — GENERAL

Government Notifications

FILLING OF A VACANCY UNDER PARAGRAPH 13(B) OF ARTICLE 99 OF THE CONSTITUTION OF THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF SRI LANKA

WHEREAS, the Secretary General of Parliament has informed the Election Commission, under Section 64(1) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981, that a vacancy has occurred in the membership of the Ninth Parliament by reason of the death of Mr. Rajavarothayam Sampanthan, who was declared elected as a Member of Parliament for the Electoral District No. 14 - Trincomalee under Section 62 of the aforesaid Act;

Whereas, the Returning Officer, for the Electoral District which returned the said member was directed by the Election Commission under Section 64(1) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981 to fill this vacancy as provided for under Sub Article 99(13)(B) of the Constitution;

And whereas, the said Returning Officer acting under Section 64(2) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981 and in terms of Sub Article 99(13)(B) of the Constitution has made a return in form "M" set out in the First Schedule to the aforesaid Act, to the effect that Mr. **Kathiravelu Sanmugam Kuhadasan** was declared elected as a Member of Parliament for the said Electoral District:



Now therefore, the Election Commission, in the exercise of the powers vested in the Election Commission by Section 64 (2) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981, does hereby notify that Mr. **Kathiravelu Sanmugam Kuhadasan** has been declared elected as a Member of the Ninth Parliament for the Electoral District No. 14 - Trincomalee to fill the vacancy caused by reason of the death of Mr. **Rajavarothayam Sampanthan**.

R. M. A. L. RATHNAYAKE, Chairman, Election Commission. M. A. P. C. PERERA, Member, Election Commission. AMEER FAAIZ, Member, Election Commission.

A. SHANMUGANATHAN, Member, Election Commission.

Prof. Lakshman Dissanayake, Member, Election Commission.

At the Election Commission, Rajagiriya, On this 02nd day of July, 2024.

EOG 07 - 0024.